Skip to main content

Paris-Nice (5) - Pasqualon : « Happy about the result despite my feeling »

Paris-Nice (5) - Pasqualon : « Happy about the result despite my feeling »

The longest day at Paris-Nice (2.WT, 8-15/03) offered a transition towards the climbs in the south this Thursday. The 227 kilometers from Gannat (Allier) to La Côte Saint-André (Isère) were animated by a four man breakaway. The last escapee, Jan Tratnik, was only caught in the final hectometers. In the peloton, the teams of the favorites controlled the pace, before gearing up after the last climbs in the Rhône région, with 60 kilometer to go. Finally, Niccolo Bonifazio won in a sprint, with Andrea Pasqualon finishing in 6th place. Fabien Doubeyclimbs to 21st position in the provisional general classification, before the first medium mountain stage. This sixth stage between Sorgues and Apt, in the Vaucluse, contains six categorized climbs.

Andrea Pasqualon :
« It was a long stage, with a very strong breakaway. The 70 final kilometers were very fast in the peloton as well, because if we wanted a sprint, we had to ride. I've given all I had, but I didn't really have a good feeling today. Maybe because of the bike or position switch after the time trial. »

« The team worked well, especially Meurisse, Doubey and in the final Boy Van Poppel. Considering my day and the final, this is not a bad result. I finished 6th, among the best sprinters in the world... Tomorrow, a rough stage is awaiting us. But with a better feeling than today, I can maybe follow on the climbs and be present in the final. »

Stage 5:
1.Niccolo Bonifazio
2.Ivan Garcia Cortina
3.Peter Sagan
6.Andrea Pasqualon
29.Xandro Meurisse
45.Fabien Doubey
66.Boy van Poppel
87.Aimé De Gendt +1:10
99.Pieter Vanspeybrouck +4:09
101.Tom Devriendt

Provisional general classification:
1.Maximilian Schachmann
2.Soren Kragh Andersen +0:58
3.Felix Grossschartner +1:01
21.Fabien Doubey +2:15
39.Andrea Pasqualon +5:37
61.Aimé De Gendt +11:42
71.Xandro Meurisse +13:55
88.Pieter Vanspeybrouck +20:00
107.Boy van Poppel +26:27
114.Tom Devriendt +32:35

Aller au contenu principal

Paris-Nice (5) - Pasqualon : « Content du résultat malgré les sensations »

Paris-Nice (5) - Pasqualon : « Content du résultat malgré les sensations »

Le jour le plus long de Paris-Nice (2.WT, 8-15/03) proposait une transition vers les montées du sud, ce jeudi. Les 227 kilomètres de Gannat (Allier) à La Côte Saint-André (Isère) ont été animés par une échappée de quatre hommes dont le dernier rescapé, Jan Tratnik, n’a été revu que dans les derniers hectomètres. Au peloton, les équipes de costaud ont contrôlé avant d’embrayer dans les 60 derniers kilomètres, une fois les côtes du Rhône franchies. Niccolo Bonifazio s’impose finalement au sprint, tandis qu’Andrea Pasqualon prend la 6e place. Fabien Doubey remonte en 21e position du général avant la première étape de moyenne montagne, intégralement disputée dans le Vaucluse entre Sorgues et Apt, avec six ascension répertoriées. 

Andrea Pasqualon :
« Ce fut une longue étape, avec une échappée très forte. Les 70 derniers kilomètres furent très rapides au peloton aussi, car il a fallu rouler pour permettre un sprint. J’ai tout donné, mais je n’avais pas de super sensations aujourd’hui. Peut-être à cause du changement de vélo et de position après le contre-la-montre. »

« L’équipe a bien travaillé, en particulier Meurisse, Doubey puis Boy Van Poppel dans le final. 
Au vu de ma journée, et du final, ce résultat n’est pas mauvais. Je termine 6e, au milieu des meilleurs sprinteurs du monde… Demain, c’est un étape accidentée mais avec de meilleures sensations qu’aujourd’hui, je peux peut-être bien passer les bosses et être présent dans le final. »

Etape 5:
1.Niccolo Bonifazio
2.Ivan Garcia Cortina
3.Peter Sagan
6.Andrea Pasqualon
29.Xandro Meurisse
45.Fabien Doubey
66.Boy van Poppel
87.Aimé De Gendt +1:10
99.Pieter Vanspeybrouck +4:09
101.Tom Devriendt

Général provisoire:
1.Maximilian Schachmann
2.Soren Kragh Andersen +0:58
3.Felix Grossschartner +1:01
21.Fabien Doubey +2:15
39.Andrea Pasqualon +5:37
61.Aimé De Gendt +11:42
71.Xandro Meurisse +13:55
88.Pieter Vanspeybrouck +20:00
107.Boy van Poppel +26:27
114.Tom Devriendt +32:35