Skip to main content

Jan Bakelants joins Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans

Jan Bakelants joins Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans

Circus - Wanty Gobert - Tormans adds a 26th rider to its effective for 2020. Jan Bakelants signed a one year contract with the Belgian UCI Pro Team. The 33 year old Belgian rider brings his experience from ten World Tour campaigns. Bakelants, member of team Sunweb in 2019, will advise the young riders, but also take his own chances in hilly races.

During his professional career, which started in 2009, Bakelants won a stage at the Tour de France in 2013, in Corsica, and wore the yellow jersey. He was also the best at the Grand Prix de Wallonie (2013), a stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné (2014) and the tours of Piémont and Emilie (2015). Bakelants finished four times in the top 25 of the Tour de France and hopes to join the roads of the Grand Tour this summer.
 

Jan Bakelants :
« Circus - Wanty Gobert - Tormans is a perfect fit for me! I want to become the rider I was in an environment in which an aggressive riding style is preferred. The exciting race calendar with an extensive World Tour programme of this Belgian Pro Team is very attractive.  I'm looking forward to share my experience with my new teammates and to perform at the Tour of Catalonia and the Ardennes classics. I'm very motivated to get started and to be a part of the team's success! »

Hilaire Van der Schueren :
« I noticed his big motivation during the conversations we're having since October. We strongly believe in his added value; he'll show the ropes of the pro peloton to our young neo pro's and he'll assist our older riders in the classics and hopefully the Tour de France! »

Jean-François Bourlart :
« We've been reconsidering the signing of Jan Bakelants for a long time, but in the end we couldn't leave this Tour de France stage winner and yellow jersey wearer without a team. He came back at a decent level after his heavy crash and, with Circus - Wanty Gobert, he will be able to compete in a lot of races that suit him. He'll be an important element in the World Tour races and in our hunt for UCI points. »

Aller au contenu principal

Jan Bakelants rejoint Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans

Jan Bakelants rejoint Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans ajoute un 26e coureur à son effectif 2020. Jan Bakelants a paraphé un contrat d’une saison en faveur de l’équipe UCI Pro Team belge. Le Belge de 33 ans apporte son expérience de dix campagnes passées au sein du World Tour. Venu du Team Sunweb, Bakelants pourra conseiller les jeunes mais aussi jouer sa carte sur les épreuves vallonnées.

Durant son parcours professionnel, entamé en 2009, Bakelants a notamment remporté une étape sur le Tour de France, en 2013, en Corse, etporté le maillot jaune. Il s’est également imposé sur le Grand Prix de Wallonie (2013), une étape du Critérium du Dauphiné (2014) et les tours du Piémont et d’Emilie (2015). Bakelants, qui a terminé à quatre reprises dans le top 25 du Tour de France, espère retrouver les routes de la Grande Boucle cet été.

Jan Bakelants :
« Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans est l’équipe idéale pour moi. Je vais pouvoir me retrouver dans cette équipe à l’esprit offensif. Le calendrier proposé, avec un programme World Tour bien fourni, m’a séduit dans cette Pro Team belge. Je suis impatient de pouvoir partager mon expérience avec mes équipiers, dès le stage de la semaine prochaine. Je veux ensuite me montrer sur le Tour de Catalogne puis les classiques wallonnes. Je suis très motivé de faire mes débuts sous les couleurs de Circus-Wanty Gobert et de contribuer au succès collectif ! »

Hilaire Van der Schueren :
« Nous discutons depuis longtemps avec Jan. Dès nos premiers échanges, en octobre, j’ai ressenti sa motivation. Nous croyons en lui, et en sa plus-value pour guider les néo-professionnels dans le peloton mais aussi jouer le capitaine de route sur les classiques et, espérons-le, sur le Tour de France. »

Jean-François Bourlart :
« Nous avons longtemps réfléchi, mais nous ne pouvions pas laisser un coureur du calibre de Jan Bakelants, maillot jaune et vainqueur d’étape au Tour de France, sans équipe. Il est revenu à un excellent niveau malgré plusieurs graves chutes. Chez Circus-Wanty Gobert, il disposera d’un calendrier à la mesure de ses qualités. Il sera un pion essentiel sur les courses du World Tour et à la chasse aux points UCI. »