Skip to main content

Rein Taaramae engages for two years with Circus-Wanty Gobert

Rein Taaramae engages for two years with Circus-Wanty Gobert

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans announces its first recruitment for next season 2021. Rein Taaramäe committed himself for two years to the Belgian team. The multiple Estonian champion has proven himself in the mountains by winning the Tour de l’Ain (2009), the Tour of Burgos (2015) and the Tour of Slovenia (2016). The rider from Tartu, who also lives in Monaco, also won stages in grand tours, in the Vuelta (2011) and in the Giro (2016). The Estonian climber who currently defends the colors of Total Direct Energie took 3rd places in 2019 in the Tour de l’Ain and at the Ventoux Dénivelé Challenges. 

Rein Taaramäe :
« I've ridden in a World Tour Team for three years, with Astana and with Katusha, but my best years were in Pro Continental teams, because the programmes suit me better. I know the French, Russian, Kazakh, ... teams very well, but I was never part of a Belgian team. I'm eager to discover this magic environment with a true cycling culture, between classics and grand champions. I'm also looking forward to do my first pedal strokes with the Cube Litening C:68X, a bike in the peloton which I've always admired. »

« The choice for Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans was quickly made and obvious. The programme is perfect for me, with a combination of World Tour races in which I aim for stage victories or good results and Europe Tour events in which I target the final victory. I'm already 33 years old, but I'm motivated like never before. I will also join a group with a lot of young climbers with who I want to share my experience. I've always loved to guide young riders and to help them progress, so I'm happy to arrive in this group full of talents who still need to flourish. Also, I'm ready to help Odd Eiking and Simone Petilli when the road goes up. » 

Jean-François Bourlart (Manager général) :
« Rein Taaramäe is an important reinforcing for our group of climbers. At the age of 33 he can bring his experience to the group of young riders, like Alexander Evans, Jérémy Bellicaud and Théo Delacroix. But next to his role as a captain, Rein is still able to achieve nice results in mountainous races. So he is a new asset in our team. »

Aller au contenu principal

Rein Taaramae s’engage deux ans chez Circus-Wanty Gobert

Rein Taaramae s’engage deux ans chez Circus-Wanty Gobert

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans tient sa première recrue pour la prochaine saison 2021. Rein Taaramäe s’est engagé pour deux ans en faveur de l’équipe belge. Multiple champion d’Estonie, Taaramäe a fait ses preuves en montagne, en remportant notamment le Tour de l’Ain (2009), le Tour de Burgos (2015) ou le Tour de Slovénie (2016). Le coureur de Tartu, qui vit aussi à Monaco, s’est également imposé sur des grands tours, à la Vuelta (2011) et au Giro (2016). En 2019, le grimpeur estonien, qui défend actuellement les couleurs de Total Direct Energie, s’est encore classé 3e du Tour de l’Ain et du Ventoux Dénivelé Challenges. 

Rein Taaramäe :
« J’ai évolué trois saisons en World Tour, chez Astana puis chez Katusha mais passé mes meilleures années dans des équipes Pro Continentales car le programme me convient mieux. Je connais bien les équipes françaises, russes, kazakhes, … mais je n’ai encore jamais évolué dans une formation belge. Je suis impatient de découvrir cet environnement magique, avec une vraie culture du vélo, entre les classiques et les grands champions. J’ai aussi envie de donner mes premiers coups de pédale avec le Cube Litening C:68X que j’ai toujours admiré dans le peloton. »

« Le choix pour Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans fut rapide et évident. Le programme de l’équipe est idéal pour moi, en combinant des épreuves World Tour où je peux viser des victoires d’étapes ou des places d’honneurs, et des épreuves de l’Europe Tour accidentées, où je peux viser la victoire finale. J’ai déjà 33 ans mais je suis plus motivé que jamais. J’arrive aussi dans un groupe avec pas mal de jeunes grimpeurs, avec lesquels je veux partager mon expérience. J’ai toujours aimé guider les jeunes et les aider à progresser, donc je suis heureux d’arriver dans ce noyau plein de talents qui doivent encore éclore. De même, je suis prêt à donner un coup de main à Odd Eiking ou Simone Petilli quand la route s’élèvera. » 

Jean-François Bourlart (Manager général) :
« Rein Taaramäe est un renfort important pour notre groupe de grimpeurs. A 33 ans, il pourra apporter son expérience à tout le noyau de jeunes, comme Alexander Evans, Jérémy Bellicaud et Théo Delacroix. Mais à côté de son rôle de capitaine, Rein est encore capable de décrocher de beaux résultats sur les épreuves montagneuses, et constitue donc un nouvel atout dans notre effectif. »