Skip to main content

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans at the start of the virtual and solitary Tour de France

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans at the start of the virtual and solitary Tour de France

The Tour de France didn’t start in Nice last Saturday, but la Grande Boucle will take place… virtually! For the first time, the Tour de France collaborated with the cycling simulator Zwift to organise the biggest cycling race in the world in a virtual mode!

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans is one of the 23 male teams participating in this solidary Tour de France. The goal is to collect money for five charitable partners. Our leaders Jan Bakelants, Yoann Offredo, Fabien Doubey, Aimé De Gendt and Danny van Poppel will participate to the different stages, broadcasted in more than 130 countries!

The virtual Tour de France starts on 4th of July and the best riders in the world will compete during the first three weekends of this month. Thanks to our connected hometrainers from our partner Elite and the Zwift simulator, the international peloton will battle for the yellow, green, white and polkadot jerseys of the mythic Grande Boucle, from the start in Nice (two mountain opening stages on July 4th and 5th) to the Champs-Elysées (July 19th), via a flat stage (July 11th), a rough stage (July 12th) and a finish on top of Chalet Reynard (July 18th). This solidary Tour de France will enable all cyclists to ride the virtual stages of the Tour de France on the same roads as the pros, for the good cause!

Jean-François Bourlart (general manager Want You Cycling):

«  Cycling and other sports were the main absents on the tv screens during the last weeks. The Tour de France is the main sporting event in July, and this virtual alternative in which Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans is participating is exciting. Thanks to this virtual Tour de France on Zwift we can enjoy the atmosphere of la Grande Boucle, at distance, and for a good cause! It will also be a good warm up for the real restart of the competition at the 1st of August. »

The 6 stages of the virtual Tour de France :
● Saturday July 4th, stage 1 : Nice, 36,4 km (4 x 9,1 km, mountain stage)
● Sunday July 5th, stage 2 : Nice, 29,5 km (682m elevation , mountain stage)
● Saturday July 11th, stage 3 : Nord-Est de la France, 48 km (flat stage)
● Sunday July 12th, stage 4 : Sud-Ouest de la France, 45,8 km (2 x 22,9 km, hilly stage)
● Saturday July 18th, stage 5 : Étape de montagne, 22,9 km (finish at Chalet-Reynard)
● Sunday July 19th, stage 6 : Paris Champs-Elysées, 42,8 km (6 laps)

Aller au contenu principal

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans au départ du premier Tour de France virtuel et solidaire

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans au départ du premier Tour de France virtuel et solidaire

Le Tour de France ne s’est pas élancé de Nice, samedi dernier, mais la Grande Boucle se déroulera tout de même… virtuellement en ce mois de juillet. Pour la première fois, le Tour de France s’est associé avec le simulateur de cyclisme Zwift pour organiser la plus grande course cycliste du monde en mode virtuel ! 

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans fait partie des 23 équipes masculines participantes à ce Tour de France solidaire, le but étant de collecter des fonds pour cinq organisations caritatives partenaires. Nos leaders Jan Bakelants, Yoann Offredo, Fabien Doubey, Aimé De Gendt ou encore Danny Van Poppel participeront aux diverses étapes de ce Tour de France, diffusée dans plus de 130 pays !

Dès ce samedi 4 juillet, et ce durant les trois premiers week-ends du mois, les meilleurs coureurs du monde s’affronteront sur ce Tour virtuel. Grâce aux home-trainers connectés de notre partenaire Elite et au simulateur Zwift, le peloton international se disputera les maillots jaune, vert, à pois et blanc de la mythique grande boucle, du départ à Nice (deux étapes de montagne en ouverture, les 4 et 5 juillet) aux Champs Elysées (le 19 juillet) en passant par une étape plate (11 juillet), une accidentée (12 juillet) et une arrivée au Chalet-Reynard (18 juillet). Ce Tour de France solidaire permettra aussi à tout cycliste de participer aux Etapes du Tour virtuelles sur les mêmes routes que les professionnels, pour la bonne cause !

Jean-François Bourlart (Manager général Want You Cycling) :
« Le cyclisme et le sport furent les grands absents des écrans de télévision lors des dernières semaines. Le Tour de France est l’événement sportif du mois de juillet, et cette alternative virtuelle à laquelle notre équipe Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans participera me réjouit. Grâce à ce Tour de France virtuel sur Zwift, nous profiterons un peu, à distance, de l’ambiance de la Grande Boucle face aux grands champions, et ce pour la bonne cause ! Cela constituera également une bonne mise en jambes avant la reprise, bien réelle celle-là, des courses dès le 1er août. » 

Les 6 étapes du Tour de France Virtuel :
● Samedi 4 juillet, étape 1 : Nice, 36,4 km (4 x 9,1 km, étape de montagne)
● Dimanche 5 juillet, étape 2 : Nice, 29,5 km (682 m de dénivelé positif, étape de montagne)
● Samedi 11 juillet, étape 3 : Nord-Est de la France, 48 km (étape sur le plat)
● Dimanche 12 juillet, étape 4 : Sud-Ouest de la France, 45,8 km (2 x 22,9 km, étape vallonnée)
● Samedi 18 juillet, étape 5 : Étape de montagne, 22,9 km (arrivée au Chalet-Reynard)
● Dimanche 19 juillet, étape 6 : Paris Champs-Elysées, 42,8 km (6 tours du circuit)