Skip to main content

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans back in competition next Sunday

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans back in competition next Sunday

Numbers were pinned for the last time on Saturday March 14th, on the occasion of the final stage of Paris-Nice towards Colmiane-Valdeblore. Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will come back in competition next Sunday at the kermesse race in Rotselaar. The sanitary measures related to the corona virus were relaxed in Belgium, making the restart of competition officially possible since the 1st of July.

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will take the opportunity to participate at the GP Vermarc, together with all other Belgian professional teams and some semi professional and amateur teams. A selection of eight riders will come back in competition, before taking the road towards the Charleroi and Lacs de l'Eau d'Heure region for a one week team training camp. Jan Bakelants, Alfdan De Decker, Wesley Kreder, Maurits Lammertink, Corné van Kessel, Boy and Danny van Poppel and Pieter Vanspeybrouck will appear at the start line, under the direction of Hilaire Van der Schueren and Steven De Neef.

Hilaire Van der Schueren:

«  Those 160 kilometer will be behind our back fast, I expect a high pace! I'm happy to return back to racing, it will do good for our riders after the many consecutive training sessions. On Sunday, a lot will become clear about how the riders went through this strange period. This important information will serve us to optimize the individual training schedules for the upcoming weeks. We want to be ready at the 1st of August! » 

Jan Bakelants:

«  I finished the lockdown like I started it: with an altitude training camp with teammate Quinten Hermans. My last race was the Ruta del Sol mid February, so it's been a while since I pinned numbers for the last time. I'm more than happy to have the opportunity to race again after this long training period! It will be a good test, I'll learn about my progress in the build-up towards the start of the international season. I train often in the region of this nice course, and I'm expecting a great race! »

Danny van Poppel:

«  The release of the new UCI calendar was important for me, because it enabled me to train towards goals again. The restart of competition on the 5th of July, one month earlier than planned, is a bonus. I really enjoyed the efforts during our first team training on the roads of the Ronde van Vlaanderen, and I'm expecting the same next Sunday. I couldn't wait to increase the intensity again! »

Selection GP Vermarc:

Bakelants Jan
De Decker Alfdan
Kreder Wesley
Lammertink Maurits
Van Kessel Corné
Van Poppel Boy
Van Poppel Danny
Vanspeybrouck Pieter

Sportive direction:

De Neef Steven
Van der Schueren Hilaire

(Photo training camp January)

Aller au contenu principal

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans reprend ce dimanche à Rotselaar

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans reprend ce dimanche à Rotselaar

Après avoir épinglé le dernier dossard le samedi 14 mars, à l’occasion de l’ultime étape de Paris-Nice menant à La Colmiane-Valdeblore, l’équipe Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans retrouvera les pelotons ce dimanche, à la kermesse de Rotselaar. Les mesures sanitaires relatives au coronavirus étant assouplies en Belgique, les compétitions peuvent officiellement reprendre depuis ce mercredi premier juillet.

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans en profite donc pour se joindre au GP Vermarc, qui réunit l’ensemble des équipes professionnelles belges et quelques équipes semi-pro et amateurs. Une sélection de huit coureurs reprendra la compétition, avant de prendre la direction de la région de Charleroi et des Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure pour un stage collectif d’une semaine. Jan Bakelants, Alfdan De Decker, Wesley Kreder, Maurits Lammertink, Corné Van Kessel, Boy et Danny Van Poppel et Pieter Vanspeybrouck seront alignés sous la direction des directeurs sportifs Hilaire Van der Schueren et Steven De Neef.

Hilaire Van der Schueren :

« Je m’attends à ce que les 160 kilomètres de course de ce dimanche passent très vite ! Je suis très heureux de pouvoir à nouveau retrouver les courses, ça va faire du bien aux coureurs après avoir enchaîné les kilomètres à l’entraînement. Ce dimanche, on va voir comment chacun a géré cette période particulière, ce qui sera utile pour optimaliser la suite de la préparation en juillet. Nous devons être prêts le premier août ! » 

Jan Bakelants :

« J’ai conclu le confinement comme je l’ai commencé : par un stage en altitude avec Quinten Hermans. La Ruta del Sol, mi-février, est la dernière épreuve que j’ai disputée donc ça fait déjà pas mal de temps que je n’ai plus épinglé un dossard. Je suis heureux de recommencer à courir ce dimanche à Rotselaar, qui constituera un bon test pour la préparation en vue de la campagne internationale. Je m’entraîne souvent dans cette région, donc je m’attends à un beau parcours et une belle course ! » 

Danny Van Poppel :

« La sortie du nouveau calendrier UCI était importante pour moi, car je pouvais à nouveau me préparer en vue d’objectifs. C’est bien de pouvoir reprendre dès le cinq juillet, un mois plus tôt que prévu ! J’ai profité du premier entrainement collectif ce jeudi sur les routes du Tour des Flandres pour me tester, je m’attends à ce qu’il en soit de même ce dimanche. Je suis impatient de retrouver l’adrénaline et l’intensité de la course ! »

Selection GP Vermarc:

Bakelants Jan
De Decker Alfdan
Kreder Wesley
Lammertink Maurits
Van Kessel Corné
Van Poppel Boy
Van Poppel Danny
Vanspeybrouck Pieter

Direction sportive:

De Neef Steven
Van der Schueren Hilaire

(Photo stage janvier)