Skip to main content

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will discover the Italian classics

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will discover the Italian classics

For the first time in its history, Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will be at the start of the Italian classics. The reshuffled calendar bundles the five races of RSC between August 1st and 15th, with Strade Bianche as the opening race, followed by Milan-Torino, Milan-San Remo, Gran Piemonte and the Tour of Lombardy. The Belgian team will discover these mythic transalpine races with a lot of motivation for the competition restart.

Thanks to its status of second Pro Team at the UCI ranking, Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans benefited from an automatic invite for the World Tour races. Strade Bianche, Milan-San Remo and the Tour of Lombardy were already on the initial programme, and the Italian race organizer also assigned invitations for both semi classics Milan-Torino and the Tour of Piemont. This last race figures on Jan Bakelant’s palmares since 2015.

Hilaire Van der Schueren (sports director):

«  Thanks to our participation in these Italian races, we can offer our riders a very nice race programme in August. It will be a busy beginning after a long break, but the yellow-blue brigade is very motivated to race a lot. Our programme for the upcoming months is finished, so during the two training camps we can fine-tune our selections and work towards our first big appointment on the 1st of August! »

Jean-François Bourlart (general manager):

«  I’m very happy with these invitations. I want to thank RCS for its confidence in our project and for the discovery of the Italian classics. These events are mythic, and will bring a special atmosphere as they open the international calendar post-Covid 19. I’m convinced that our riders will be able to surpass their capabilities in each of these races, from the Strade Bianche to the Tour of Lombardy, and show that we’re worth being at those classics. » 

The Italian programme:

1/08: Strade Bianche
5/08: Milan-Torino
8/08: Milan - San Remo
12/08: Gran Piemonte
15/08: Il Lombardia

Aller au contenu principal

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans va découvrir les classiques italiennes

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans va découvrir les classiques italiennes

Pour la première fois de son histoire, Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans s’alignera sur les classiques italiennes. Le calendrier remanié condensera les cinq rendez-vous de RCS du 1er au 15 août, avec en ouverture les Strade Bianche suivi de Milan Turin, de Milan-San Remo, de Gran Piemonte et de Il Lombardia. L’équipe belge pourra découvrir ces mythiques rendez-vous transalpins avec beaucoup de motivation pour la reprise.

Grâce à son statut de 2e Pro Team au classement UCI, Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans bénéficiait d’une invitation automatique sur les rendez-vous World Tour, les Strade Bianche, Milan-San Remo et le Tour de Lombardie figurant déjà au programme initial. Mais l’organisateur italien RCS a également attribué des invitations pour les deux semi-classiques Milan-Turin et Tour du Piémont, une épreuve sur laquelle s’est notamment déjà imposé Jan Bakelants en 2015.

Hilaire Van der Schueren (Directeur sportif):


«  Grâce à notre invitation aux épreuves italiennes, nous pouvons proposer un très beau programme de courses à nos coureurs au mois d’août. Après une longue pause, le calendrier est chargé, mais les troupes sont très motivées pour courir. Notre programme pour les prochains mois est désormais terminé, nous sommes prêts à peaufiner les sélections pendant nos deux stages estivaux et à travailler en vue de notre premier grand rendez-vous le 1er août, aux Strade Bianche ! »

Jean-François Bourlart (Manager Général) :

« Ces invitations me réjouissent ! Je tiens à remercier RCS pour leur confiance en notre projet et cette découverte des classiques italiennes. Ces épreuves sont mythiques, et auront une saveur toute particulière puisqu’elles ouvriront le calendrier international d’après-Covid 19. Je suis convaincu que nos coureurs sauront se surpasser sur chacun des rendez-vous, des Strade Bianche au Tour de Lombardie, pour démontrer que nous avons notre place sur ces classiques. »

Le programme italien :

1/08 : Strade Bianche
5/08 : Milano -Torino
8/08 : Milano - San Remo
12/08 : Gran Piemonte
15/08 : Il Lombardia