Skip to main content

Tour of Flanders: « Pasqualon is ready for a good result »

Tour of Flanders: « Pasqualon is ready for a good result »

On Sunday, it will already be the fourth time that the Tour of Flanders (1.WT, 18/10) starts in the centre of Antwerp. The Covid measures will have an influence on the organization of the race. With the campaign ‘Flandrien at home’, the fans are asked to follow the race at home. The access to all crucial points on the course are closed for the public. The distance of the last monument of the 2020 season is shortened to 243.5 kilometer. From Antwerp, the course follows the direction of the river Schelde until Berlare, from where the peloton goes in a straight line to the duo Lippenhovestraat-Paddestraat, the first cobble sections after 84.7 kilometer. The entry to Oudenaarde via the Kattenberg is the start of the hills zone. The famous Muur van Geraardsbergen is not in the parcours of this post-Covid edition, but the traditional final with the Old Kwaremont and the Paddestraat was remained. After seventeen steep climbs, half of them are cobbled, the winner will be known around 15h45.

There haven’t been many Belgian classics in 2020, but Andrea Pasqualoncollected a nice series of places of honor (14th Brabantse Pijl, 16th Le Samyn, 19th Ghent-Wevelgem, 22nd Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne). The Italian rider will lead the selection of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans this Sunday. He will be surrounded by the Belgian riders Ludwig De Winter, Xandro Meurisse and Pieter Vanspeybrouck, and the Dutch riders Maurits Lammertink and Boy and Danny Van Poppel. Hilaire Van der Schueren, who will have the sportive direction of the team with Steven De Neef and Sébastien Demarbaix, previews the race.

Hilaire Van der Schueren (sportive direction):
« We’re going with Andrea Pasqualon as a leader to Flanders’ finest. He has shown last week at the Flèche Brabançonne and Ghent-Wevelgem that he has the capacities and the form to achieve a good result. Ludwig De Winter and Pieter Vanspeybrouck are the perfect riders to protect him as good as possible. I expect Maurits and Xandro Meurisse to accompany him in the final. We’re imagining a good strategy, in which anticipation will have an important role. »

Andrea Pasqualon:
« The Tour of Flanders is my favorite race. Each year, I dream about being at the start and in a good shape. I achieved good results at the previous classics, but I just missed the first group. I hope to be able to follow them on Sunday. I feel good and I’m ready for it! »

Riders:
Ludwig De Winter
Maurits Lammertink
Xandro Meurisse
Andrea Pasqualon
Boy Van Poppel
Danny Van Poppel
Pieter Vanspeybrouck

Sportive direction:
Hilaire Van der Schueren
Steven De Neef
Sébastien Demarbaix

Aller au contenu principal

Tour des Flandres: « Pasqualon est prêt pour un bon résultat »

Tour des Flandres: « Pasqualon est prêt pour un bon résultat »

Ce dimanche, le Tour des Flandres (1.WT, 18/10) s’élancera du centre d’Anvers pour la quatrième fois. Cette 104e édition se voit bousculée par les mesures sanitaires, puisque les fans sont interdits sur le parcours du Ronde. La meilleure et unique façon de suivre la course sera… depuis votre salon ! La distance du dernier monument de la saison a été raccourcie, pour un total de 243,5 kilomètres. Après la sortie d’Anvers, le parcours suit la direction de l’Escaut jusqu’à Berlare, ou le peloton se dirige en ligne droite vers l’enchaînement Lippenhovestraat-Paddestraat, les premiers secteurs pavés de l’épreuve après 84,7 kilomètres. L’entrée à Oudenaarde par le Kattenberg est le début de la zone des monts. Cette édition post-Covid contourne le Mur de Grammont, mais la finale traditionnelle avec le Vieux Quaremont et le Paterberg est maintenue. Au bout de dix-sept monts, le vainqueur sera connu vers 15h45 à Audenarde.

La saison des classiques belges fut plutôt restreinte cette année, néanmoins Andrea Pasqualon a collecté de belles places d’honneur (14e Flèche Brabançonne, 16e Le Samyn, 19e Gand-Wevelgem, 22e Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne). L’Italien sera l’homme protégé de Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans au Tour des Flandres. Il sera épaulé par les Belges Ludwig De Winter, Xandro Meurisse et Pieter Vanspeybrouck et les Néerlandais Maurits Lammertink, et Boy et Danny Van Poppel. Hilaire Van der Schueren, qui aura la direction sportive avec Steven De Neef et Sébastien Demarbaix, préface l’épreuve.

Hilaire Van der Schueren (directeur sportif):
« Andrea Pasqualon sera notre leader sur la reine des classiques flamandes. Il a démontré à la Flèche Brabançonne et à Gand Wevelgem qu’il en a les capacités et la forme nécessaire. Ludwig De Winter et Pieter Vanspeybrouck auront la mission de le protéger au mieux. J’attends Maurits Lammertink et Xandro Meurisse dans le final avec Andrea. Nous réfléchissons à une bonne stratégie, car il faudra sans doute anticiper les attaques des favoris. »

Andrea Pasqualon:
« Le Tour des Flandres est ma course favorite. Chaque année, je rêve d’être ici au départ en bonne forme. J’ai signé de bons résultats lors des deux classiques précédentes, mais j’étais trop juste pour suivre le premier groupe. J’espère y arriver ce dimanche. Je me sens bien et je suis prêt! »

Coureurs:
Ludwig De Winter
Maurits Lammertink
Xandro Meurisse
Andrea Pasqualon
Boy Van Poppel
Danny Van Poppel
Pieter Vanspeybrouck

Direction sportive:
Hilaire Van der Schueren
Steven De Neef
Sébastien Demarbaix