Skip to main content

Milano-Torino - Van Poppel : « My good feeling is back » 

Milano-Torino - Van Poppel : « My good feeling is back » 

Milan-Turin (1.Pro, 5/08) is scheduled this Wednesday on the road to Milan-San Remo. The Lombardian classic is transformed into a pool table, suited for sprinters, with a 198 kilometer course without any difficulties, between Mesero, east of Milan, and Stupingo, south of Turin. The selection of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans wil be lead by fast riders, in particular Danny and Boy van Poppel, Timothy Dupont and Alfdan De Decker. They will get the support of Jan Bakelants, Jasper De Plus and Pieter Vanspeybrouck, under the direction of Hilaire Van der Schueren and Steven De Neef.

Timothy Dupont:

«  Last Saturday was complicated for me. I felt sick during the first one or two race hours. The heat was difficult to manage, but now I’m better acclimatized. This Wednesday, the course suits me better, with an almost unavoidable bunch sprint. We are here with three fast riders, we’ll see tomorrow during the race who feels best and who’ll do the sprint. »

Danny van Poppel:

«  I’m very happy to pick up the racing again and to meet my teammates after our training camps in July. The last four months were very long, but week by week I found some goals again. I also found my good feeling back, this is a new start for me. Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans continued their support after a bad season start, so I want to give them something back the next races. »

« It’s been almost a year since I haven’t had such a good legs, so I want to deliver rapidly. This Wednesday, Milan-Turin is perfect for my capacities. I can’t wait to meet the cream of international sprinting,  I haven’t battled against them for months. It will also be a good preparation for Milan-San Remo, a classic in which I participated three times already, but never with a good feeling. »

Aller au contenu principal

Milano-Torino - Van Poppel : « J’ai retrouvé de bonnes sensations »

Milano-Torino - Van Poppel : « J’ai retrouvé de bonnes sensations »

Milan-Turin (1.Pro, 5/08) se présente ce mercredi sur la route menant à Milan-San Remo. La classique lombarde s’est transformée en billard dédié aux sprinteurs, avec un tracé de 198 kilomètres dénués de toute difficulté entre Mesero, à l’Est de Milan, et Stupingi, au sud de Turin. La sélection Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans sera emmenée par des hommes rapides, avec notamment Danny et Boy Van Poppel, Timothy Dupont et Alfdan De Decker, épaulés par Jan Bakelants, Jasper De Plus et Pieter Vanspeybrouck sous la direction de Hilaire Van der Schueren et Steven De Neef.

Timothy Dupont :
« J’ai vécu une journée compliquée samedi, d’autant que j’ai été malade durant la première heure et demie de course. J’ai eu dû mal à encaisser la chaleur, mais j’ai bien récupéré et je m’acclimate à la chaleur. Ce mercredi, le parcours me convient beaucoup mieux, avec un sprint massif presque inévitable. Nous sommes trois hommes rapides, on verra au fil de la course qui se sent le mieux et qui disputera l’arrivée. »

Danny Van Poppel :
« Je suis très heureux de reprendre les courses et de revoir mes équipiers après les stages de juillet. Les quatre derniers mois furent très long, mais j’ai retrouvé des objectifs au fil des semaines. J’ai surtout recouvré mes meilleures sensations, c’est un nouveau départ pour moi. L’équipe Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans a continué à me faire confiance malgré un mauvais début de saison, je veux leur rendre sur les prochaines courses. »

« Cela fait près d’un an que je n’ai plus eu de telles jambes, donc je veux concrétiser rapidement. Ce mercredi, Milan-Turin est parfait pour mes capacités. Je suis impatient de me retrouver face au gratin du sprint international, auquel je ne me suis plus frotté depuis de longs mois. Ce sera aussi une belle préparation pour Milan-San Remo, une classique que j’ai déjà disputée à trois reprises mais sur laquelle je ne me suis jamais présenté dans les meilleures dispositions. »