Skip to main content

Occitanie (1): Pasqualon, 4th, satisfied about his restart

Occitanie (1): Pasqualon, 4th, satisfied about his restart

Théo Delacroix was inspired for his first day as a professional rider, this Saturday at the Route d’Occitanie (1-4/08, 2.1). The French U23 champion immediately showed himself by joining the early breakaway on the road from Saint-Affrique towards Cazouls-les-Béziers. Four riders, completed by Calmejane, Kron and Marquez, gained an advantage of 5 minutes, until the peloton took control of the race in function of a bunch sprint. The unavoidable group sprint was won by Bryan Coquard. Our Italian sprinter Andrea Pasqualon took 4th place.

Andrea Pasqualon:

« After a long period without races, I'm happy with today's result, altough a podium finish might have been possible. Because of the heat and our young team at the start, we've chosen to wait until the final to show up at the front. With Théo in the breakaway, the tactics worked out really well. The team worked well for me during the final 20 kilometer. I'm very focused on Milano-San Remo, so today's result is a nice boost to my confidence. » 

Théo Delacroix:

« I end this good first day for the team in the breakaway with a bitter taste. Despite the difficult weather circumstances, I felt quite well at this first race. I took bonification seconds with the aim of finishing with the group and winning the white jersey. Unfortunately, I punctured at the foot of the last climb, and because of the difficulties of the team cars to pass dropped riders, it was impossible to come back. I’m disappointed about the inability of battling for the young rider’s jersey. But luckily some more days and a nice end of the season are awaiting us, so there are still plenty of possibilities to try again! »

Route d’Occitanie (Stage 1) :
1. Bryan Coquard
2. Elia Viviani
3. Sonny Colbrelli
4. Andrea Pasqualon
26. Odd Eiking + 0:16
33. SImone Petilli + 0:20
47. Jeremy Bellicaud + 0:32
87. Aimé De Gendt + 1:45
111. Theo Delacroix + 10:11
115. Alexander Evans

Aller au contenu principal

Occitanie (1): Pasqualon, 4e heureux pour la reprise

Occitanie (1): Pasqualon, 4e heureux pour la reprise

Théo Delacroix était inspiré pour sa première journée en tant que coureur professionnel, ce samedi, sur la Route d’Occitanie (1-4/08). Le Champion de France Espoirs s’est immédiatement illustré en prenant l’échappée matinale sur la route de Saint-Affrique vers Cazouls-les-Béziers. Un quatuor, complété par Calmejane, Kron et Marquez, a compté jusqu’à cinq minutes d’avance avant d’être contrôlé par le peloton en vue d’un sprint massif. L’arrivée groupée fut inévitable, et a souri à Bryan Coquard. Le sprinteur français s’impose, tandis que notre Italien Andrea Pasqualon prend la quatrième place.

Andrea Pasqualon:

« Après une longue période sans course, je suis content de ma quatrième place même si un podium était peut-être envisageable. Avec la chaleur et le groupe assez jeune aligné sur la Route d’Occitanie, nous avons choisi d’attendre le final avant de nous montrer. Avec Théo dans l’échappée, la situation était idéale. Dans les 20 derniers kilomètres, l’équipe a bien travaillé. Je suis très concentré sur Milan-San Remo, donc cette reprise donne un fameux boost à la confiance. » 

Théo Delacroix:

« Je termine cette bonne première journée pour l’équipe passée à l’avant avec un petit gout amer. Malgré la chaleur qui était difficile à gérer, j’avais des sensations correctes. J’ai pris des bonifications dans l’objectif de terminer avec le peloton et en suite, décrocher le maillot blanc. Malheureusement j’ai crevé au pied de la dernière difficulté, et avec les voitures qui avaient du mal à dépasser les coureurs distancés, c’était impossible de rentrer. Je suis donc déçu de ne pas avoir pu jouer le maillot de meilleur jeune. Heureusement il reste encore quelques jours et une belle fin de saison, où je peux retenter des coups comme celui d’aujourd’hui! »

Route d’Occitanie (Etape 1) :
1. Bryan Coquard
2. Elia Viviani
3. Sonny Colbrelli
4. Andrea Pasqualon
26. Odd Eiking + 0:16
33. SImone Petilli + 0:20
47. Jeremy Bellicaud + 0:32
87. Aimé De Gendt + 1:45
111. Theo Delacroix + 10:11
115. Alexander Evans