Skip to main content

Good restart of the competition from Vanspeybrouck and Van Kessel in Rotselaar

Good restart of the competition from Vanspeybrouck and Van Kessel in Rotselaar

The competition officially restarted this Sunday in Rotselaar. This first post-covid 19 race reunited all Belgian pro teams and a couple of semi pro and amateur teams. Circus-Wanty Gobert showed up with a group of riders impatiently waiting for the competition restart. The race was animated from the start, with a 23 rider breakaway with Danny van Poppel skimming to seven men. This group was doubled halfway through the race, resulting in eighteen riders with Corné van Kessel and Pieter Vanspeybrouck battling for the win. After an attack with Vanspeybrouck, it was finally Van Kessel who joined the right breakaway with Sénéchal, Riesebeek and Campenaerts. Though, the Dutch rider had to let go his breakaway companions in the final kilometers, and finished 10th. Vanspeybrouck sprinted to 9th place, 45 seconds after solo winner Sénéchal.

Hilaire Van der Schueren:

«  We’ve ridden a good race. We were in a winning position all race long. It’s a pity that Corné van Kessel didn’t follow the right breakaway until the finish, because he was tactically strong. I’m satisfied, so we can start our first training camp with confidence.»

Pieter Vanspeybrouck:

«  It was a fast race. Hilaire gave us the right tactics in the final, so Corné and I were each in good breakaways. Our competition restart was successful. »

Corné van Kessel:

«  The start of my road season was postponed by a couple of months because of the Covid-19 pandemic. But we’re off now! And I’m happy about how it went. I showed myself in the front until the final, but I’m a little disappointed about being dropped from the leaders in the final kilometers. »

Rotselaar :
1. Florian Sénéchal
2. Oscar Riesebeek + 0:07
3. Victor Campenaerts + 0:16
9. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 0:46
10. Corné Van Kessel
19. Jan Bakelants + 5:37
33. Boy Van Poppel + 6:48
88. Wesley Kreder + 6:56
89. Alfdan De Decker
92. Maurits Lammertink + 7:01

Aller au contenu principal

Vanspeybrouck et Van kessel reprennent en force à Rotselaar

Vanspeybrouck et Van kessel reprennent en force à Rotselaar

La saison cycliste a repris ses droits, ce dimanche, à l’occasion de la course de Rotselaar (Belgique), ce dimanche. Le GP Vermarc réunissait toutes les équipes professionnelles belges, ainsi que quelques formations semi-pro et amateurs. Circus-Wanty Gobert alignait un effectif impatient de retrouver la compétition sur cette épreuve de reprise, qui fut animée par des attaques dès le premier des dix tours de 15,4 kilomètres. Danny Van Poppel a intégré une première échappée de 23 hommes, qui s’est ensuite disloquée. Corné Van Kessel et Pieter Vanspeybrouck ont suivi un second mouvement de course et se sont retrouvé en tête. Le futur vainqueur Sénéchal, Riesebeek et Campenaerts se sont isolés à l’entame du dernier tour, tandis que Vanspeybrouck (9e) et Van Kessel (10e) terminent dans le premier groupe de contre.

Hilaire Van der Schueren:

« Nous avons fait une belle course. A chaque moment de la course nous étions en position pour gagner. C’est dommage que Corné ne parvient pas à suivre le trio gagnant, car il avait senti le bon coup. Je suis satisfait. Demain, nous pourrons aborder notre premier stage en pleine confiance pour préparer la suite des opérations. »

Pieter Vanspeybrouck:
«  La course fut rapide. Hilaire nous a glissé de bons conseils tactiques pour entamer la finale, c’est pourquoi Corné et moi étions dans les bonnes échappées. C’est un bon début pour la reprise ! »

Corné van Kessel:
«  Mon début sur la route a été reporté de quelques mois à cause de la pandémie. Maintenant c’est parti, et je suis content! Je me suis montré à l’avant jusqu’à la fin, mais je suis quand même déçu d’avoir laissé partir le trio de tête dans les derniers kilomètres. »

Rotselaar :
1. Florian Sénéchal
2. Oscar Riesebeek + 0:07
3. Victor Campenaerts + 0:16
9. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 0:46
10. Corné Van Kessel
19. Jan Bakelants + 5:37
33. Boy Van Poppel + 6:48
88. Wesley Kreder + 6:56
89. Alfdan De Decker
92. Maurits Lammertink + 7:01