Skip to main content

German Championships road race - Koch & Zimmermann on the podium

German Championships road race - Koch & Zimmermann on the podium

This Sunday, Jonas Koch and Georg Zimmermann defended the colors of Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux in the fight to become German road racing champion. The race exploded 90 kilometers from the finish on the difficult circuit in Stuttgart. Against the Bora team, in overwhelming numerical superiority, Koch and Zimmermann admirably held their own and respectively clinched second and third places at the end of the 185 kilometers. Koch and Schachmann (Bora) broke away on the last lap, before the latter struck the decisive blow on the last climb. Zimmermann, impressive all day, then beat Burghardt and Politt to accompany his teammate to the podium.

Jonas Koch:
"First of all, I have to say that we did a fantastic race, Georg and I. We started with only two guys and we both end on the podium, against teams with such strong manpower like Bora. I did my best in the climbs against Maximilian Schachmann but there was not debate, he was the strongest. I was extremely motivated today because it was not far from my hometown and I knew the shape was good, thanks to the work with my trainer Maarten. We can be proud today."

Georg Zimmermann :
"I was three against one shortly after halfway point. Niels Politt then dropped and I found myself in front alongside Schachmann and Buchmann, the two best German climbers in the peloton. Our cooperation was good until they started attacking me 4 laps from the end. It was therefore no longer essential that I take my turns because the trust between us was broken. This allowed Jonas Koch and two other Bora to catch us. When Schachmann and Jonas went, I was fine with it because Jonas is an excellent sprinter. In the end, we finish two and three. I don't regret anything because it was arguably my best race this season, and the best result I could hope for. Neither Schachmann nor Buchmann managed to drop me in the climbs and that motivates me a lot for the next races."

German Championships road race :
1. Maximilian Schachmann
2. Jonas Koch +1:06
3. Georg Zimmermann +2:01

Aller au contenu principal

Championnats d'Allemagne sur route - Koch et Zimmermann sur le podium

Championnats d'Allemagne sur route - Koch et Zimmermann sur le podium

Ce dimanche, Jonas Koch et Georg Zimmermann défendaient les couleurs d'Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux en vue de décrocher le titre de champion d'Allemagne de la course en ligne. La course a explosé à 90 kilomètres de l'arrivée sur le circuit difficile de Stuttgart. Face à l'équipe Bora, en écrasante supériorité numérique, Koch et Zimmermann ont admirablement tenu tête et respectivement décroché les deuxième et troisième places au terme des 185 kilomètres. Koch et Schachmann (Bora) se sont détachés dans le dernier tour, avant que le second cité ne porte le coup décisif dans la dernière montée. Zimmermann, impressionnant toute la journée, a ensuite battu Burghardt et Politt pour accompagner son coéquipier sur le podium.

Jonas Koch :
"Tout d'abord, je dois dire que nous avons fait une course fantastique, Georg et moi. Nous n'étions que deux coureurs au départ et nous terminons tous les deux sur le podium, face à une équipe comme Bora qui avait énormément de bons coureurs. J'ai fait de mon mieux dans les montées avec Maximilian Schachmann mais il n'y a pas eu de débat, c'était bien lui le plus fort. J'étais extrêmement motivé aujourd'hui car nous n'étions pas loin de ma ville natale. Aussi, je savais que la forme était bonne grâce au travail avec mon entraîneur Maarten. Nous pouvons être fiers aujourd'hui."

Georg Zimmermann :
"J'étais à trois contre un peu après la mi-course. Niels Politt a ensuite craqué et je me suis retrouvé face à Schachmann et Buchmann, les deux meilleurs grimpeurs allemands du peloton. Notre coopération était bonne jusqu'à ce qu'ils commencent à m'attaquer à 4 tours de la fin. Il n'était dès lors plus indispensable que je prenne des relais car la confiance en tête était rompue. Cela a permis à Jonas Koch et deux autres Bora de rentrer. Quand Schachmann et Jonas sont partis, cela m'arrangeait car Jonas est un excellent sprinteur. Finalement, nous faisons deux et trois. Je ne regrette rien car c'était sans doute ma meilleure course cette saison, et le meilleur résultat que je pouvais espérer. Ni Schachmann, ni Buchmann n'ont réussi à me lâcher dans les ascensions et cela me motive beaucoup pour les prochaines courses."

Championnat d'Allemagne sur route :
1. Maximilian Schachmann
2. Jonas Koch +1:06
3. Georg Zimmermann +2:01