Skip to main content

Théo Delacroix : « Eager to pin my first bib numbers with Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans »

Théo Delacroix : « Eager to pin my first bib numbers with Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans »

Théo Delacroix will make his debut with the professionals next Saturday. The French U23 champion will pin his first bib numbers on his new Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans jersey on the 1st of August, the first day of his professional contract. The 21 year old is eager to join the pro peloton, which he discovered last summer during his period as a trainee. At this moment, the French rider is in the Alps for the recon of the Tour de l'Avenir, a race in which he will participate with the national team.

The rider from the Jura region met his new teammates during two training camps in Belgium, before heading towards the foot of the Pyrenees for his debut at the Route d’Occitanie (1-4/08), with Jérémy Bellicaud, Aimé De Gendt, Odd Eiking, Alexander Evans, Andrea Pasqualon and Simone Petilli.

The resident from Franche-Compté and member of our development team CC Etupes will continue the racing at the Mont Ventoux Dénivelé Challenge (6/08), before joining the French national team for the Tour de l’Avenir (14-19/08) and the European Championships.

Théo Delacroix :
« I'm looking forward to make my debut with the team, altough I'm no stranger to the environment since I joined the team last summer as a trainee and this season for all collective training camps. This season will be short and intense, but I'm ready. Certainly, In France we had to train on the rollers for two months, but three months ago we were allowed to go out again and this should be sufficient. »

« During the training camps in Belgium, in the Ardennes in particular, I learned that my shape was good. We did a lot of qualitative work on the steep relief and in a pleasant environment, which I only knew from Liège-Bastogne-Liège U23. I'm eager to pin my first bib numbers on Saturday! »

« The level of this Route d’Occitanie will be very high, I will learn immediately where I'm situated. I'm ready to work for my leaders, so the team can achieve good results from the restart. I also want to sharpen my condition, why not by joining a breakaway? The succession of five race days, with the Mont Ventoux,  will enable me to get the race rhythm back soon! »

« The frustration about not being able to enjoy my U23 champion's jersey is already processed. It's an extra motivation to shine at the Tour de l'Avenir, with the names of the partners of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans on my chest. Each rider of our collective will have the permission to play his own cards, without having to work for a leader. The stages in the Jura might suit me, but I'll try to grab each opportunity on my path. »

Aller au contenu principal

Théo Delacroix : « Impatient d’épingler mon premier dossard avec Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans »

Théo Delacroix : « Impatient d’épingler mon premier dossard avec Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans »

Ce samedi, Théo Delacroix fera ses grands débuts chez les professionnels. Le Champion de France Espoirs épinglera son premier dossard sur son nouveau maillot Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans ce 1er août, premier jour de son contrat professionnel. Le Français de 21 ans, forcément impatient à l’heure de rejoindre le peloton pro qu’il avait déjà découvert comme stagiaire l’été dernier, pédale en ce moment sur les reliefs alpins, où il reconnait le Tour de l’Avenir qu’il disputera avec l’équipe de France Espoirs. 

Le Jurassien, qui a retrouvé ses nouveaux coéquipiers lors des deux stages en Belgique, fera ses débuts au pied des Pyrénées, sur la Route d’Occitanie (1-4/08) avec Jérémy Bellicaud, Aimé De Gendt, Odd Eiking, Alexander Evans, Andrea Pasqualon et Simone Petilli.

Le Franc-Comtois, formé dans notre équipe de développement du CC Etupes, s’alignera ensuite au Mont Ventoux Dénivelé Challenge (6/08) avant de rejoindre l’équipe de France pour le Tour de l’Avenir (14-19/08) puis le Championnat d’Europe.

Théo Delacroix :
« Je me réjouis d’effectuer mes grands débuts avec l’équipe, même si l’environnement ne m’est pas inconnu pour y avoir évolué comme stagiaire l’été dernier et pour avoir participé à tous les stages collectifs de préparation. Cette saison sera courte et intense, mais je suis prêt. Certes, en France, nous avons dû nous entraîner deux mois sur les rouleaux, mais depuis près de trois mois, nous pouvons à nouveau sortir sur la route ce qui est largement suffisant. »

« Lors des camps d’entraînement collectif en Belgique, en particulier en Ardenne, j’ai remarqué que ma condition était bonne. Nous avons pu bien bosser qualitativement sur des reliefs bien escarpés et dans un environnement agréable, que je connaissais jusque-là uniquement par Liège-Bastogne-Liège Espoirs. J’ai hâte d’épingler un premier dossard ce samedi. »

« Le plateau de cette Route d’Occitanie est très relevé et permettra directement de voir où je me situe. Je suis prêt à bosser pour mes leaders, afin que l’équipe décroche un résultat dès la reprise. Je veux aussi peaufiner ma condition, pourquoi pas en prenant une échappée. L’enchaînement de cinq jours de compétition, avec le Ventoux en prime, me remettra bien dans le rythme ! »

« La frustration de ne pas avoir profité de mon maillot de champion de France U23 est digérée. Cela me procure une motivation supplémentaire de pouvoir briller en tricolore, en affichant les partenaires de Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans, sur le Tour de l’Avenir. Chacun aura sa carte à jouer dans le collectif France, sans un leader désigné. Les étapes dans le Jura peuvent me correspondre, il faudra tenter de piéger les purs grimpeurs dans les Alpes et saisir chaque opportunité au fil de l’épreuve. »