Skip to main content

National Championships - Boy van Poppel 5th, Delacroix on the attack in Epinal

National Championships - Boy van Poppel 5th, Delacroix on the attack in Epinal

This Sunday, 23 riders defended the colors of Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux in five different countries, with a view of becoming national champion of the road race. Besides Germany, where Jonas Koch and Georg Zimmermann both landed a podium, the team was represented in Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy and France.

Despite the desire to fire up the race from the first kilometers of the Belgian championships, through Jan Bakelants and Tom Devriendt, the definite breakaway went soon after and will count up to 5 minutes at 100 kilometers from the finish. The first attacks between the favorites in the peloton started 40 kilometers later, and they soon found themselves six in front. Shortly after the general regrouping 28 kilometers from the finish, Van Aert, Evenepoel and Theuns took advantage of the disorganization to get rid of their rivals for good. Baptiste Planckaert eventually finished 13th at the finish in Waregem, five seconds behind the winner Van Aert.

In the Netherlands, it was a particularly explosive race which resulted in a surprise victory near the Col du VAM (Wijster). Wesley Kreder, Boy van Poppel and Danny van Poppel grabbed the right breakaway after an hour of racing, and after multiple changes of situation, Boy van Poppel eventually found himself in the lead with six other riders ten kilometers from the finish. Timo Roosen, taking advantage of the numerical superiority of his Jumbo-Visma team, broke away from this group as the final kilometer approached and won the title alone. Boy van Poppel, who once again demonstrates his excellent condition, finished fifth.

Théo Delacroix and Jérémy Bellicaud defended themselves against the French armadas in Epinal, on a particularly difficult course. Delacroix, French U23 champion in 2019, distinguished himself in counterattack 70 kilometers from the finish, trying to bridge the gap to the breakaway of 15 riders who eventually fought for victory. At the end of the 242 kilometers of the event, Bellicaud finished 53rd.

The heatwave has gripped Italy in recent days, and it is under 40°C that Riccardo MinaliAndrea Pasqualon and Simone Petilli covered the 225 kilometers around Imola. A particularly selective parcours saw the victory of Sonny Colbrelli, while Pasqualon finished eighteenth, winning the peloton's sprint 9 minutes later.


Belgian Championships road race:
1. Wout Van Aert
2. Edward Theuns
3. Remco Evenepoel +1
13. Baptiste Planckaert +5  
22. Aimé De Gendt
35. Loïc Vliegen
37. Jan Bakelants
46. Tom Devriendt +19
66. Kévin van Melsen +5:21
DNF Jasper De Plus
DNF Ludwig De Winter
DNF Pieter Vanspeybrouck

Dutch Championships road race:
1. Timo Roosen
2. Sjoerd Bax +30
3. Oscar Riesebeek
5. Boy van Poppel +33 
15. Taco van der Hoorn
18. Corné van Kessel 
32. Wesley Kreder +4:22
33. Danny van Poppel
39. Maurits Lammertink +7:13

French Championships road race:
1. Rémi Cavagna
2. Rudy Molard
3. Damien Touzé +58
53. Jérémy Bellicaud +9:06  
DNF Théo Delacroix

Italian Championships road race:
1. Sonny Colbrelli
2. Fausto Masnada +2
3. Samuele Zoccarato +37
18. Andrea Pasqualon +9:39 
55. Simone Petilli
DNF Riccardo Minali

Aller au contenu principal

Championnats Nationaux - Boy van Poppel 5ème, Delacroix offensif à Epinal

Championnats Nationaux - Boy van Poppel 5ème, Delacroix offensif à Epinal

Ce dimanche, 23 coureurs défendaient les couleurs d'Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux dans cinq pays différents, en vue de décrocher le titre de champion national de la course en ligne. Outre en Allemagne où Jonas Koch et Georg Zimmermann ont tout deux décroché un podium, l'équipe était représentée en Belgique, aux Pays-bas, en Italie et en France.

Malgré la volonté de décanter la course dès les premiers kilomètres du championnat de Belgique, par l'intermédiaire de Jan Bakelants et Tom Devriendt, la bonne échappée est partie peu après et comptera jusqu'à 5 minutes d'avance à 100 kilomètres de l'arrivée. Les premières explications entre favoris dans le peloton ont démarré 40 kilomètres plus loin, et ils se sont bientôt retrouvé à six devant. Peu après le regroupement général à 28 kilomètres de l'arrivée, Van Aert, Evenepoel et Theuns ont profité de la désorganisation pour se défaire de leurs concurrents, pour de bon. Baptiste Planckaert est finalement 13ème à l'arrivée à Waregem, cinq secondes derrière le vainqueur Van Aert.

Aux Pays-Bas, ce fut une course particulièrement explosive qui a donné lieu à une victoire surprise aux abords du Col du VAM (Wijster). Wesley Kreder, Boy van Poppel et Danny van Poppel ont accroché la bonne échappée partie après une heure de course, et après de multiples changements de physionomie, Boy van Poppel s'est retrouvé en tête avec six autres coureurs à dix kilomètres de l'arrivée. Timo Roosen, profitant de la supériorité numérique de son équipe Jumbo-Visma, a faussé compagnie à ce groupe à l'approche de la flamme rouge et décroche le titre en solitaire. Boy van Poppel, qui démontre une fois de plus son excellente condition, termine cinquième. 

Théo Delacroix et Jérémy Bellicaud se sont défendus avec leurs armes face aux armadas françaises à Epinal, sur un parcours particulièrement difficile. Delacroix, champion de France U23 en 2019, s'est illustré en contre-attaque à 70 kilomètres de l'arrivée, tentant de joindre l'échappée de 15 coureurs qui s'est finalement disputée la victoire. Au bout des 242 kilomètres de l'épreuve, Bellicaud termine 53ème.

La canicule s'est emparée de l'Italie ces derniers jours, et c'est sous 40°C que Andrea Pasqualon et Simone Petilli ont parcouru les 225 kilomètres autour d'Imola. Un tracé particulièrement sélectif a souri à Sonny Colbrelli, tandis que Pasqualon termine dix-huitième, remportant le sprint du peloton 9 minutes plus tard.

Championnats de Belgique sur route :
1. Wout Van Aert
2. Edward Theuns
3. Remco Evenepoel +1
13. Baptiste Planckaert +5  
22. Aimé De Gendt
35. Loïc Vliegen
37. Jan Bakelants
46. Tom Devriendt +19
66. Kévin van Melsen +5:21
DNF Jasper De Plus
DNF Ludwig De Winter
DNF Pieter Vanspeybrouck

Championnats des Pays-Bas sur route :
1. Timo Roosen
2. Sjoerd Bax +30
3. Oscar Riesebeek
5. Boy van Poppel +33 
15. Taco van der Hoorn
18. Corné van Kessel 
32. Wesley Kreder +4:22
33. Danny van Poppel
39. Maurits Lammertink +7:13

Championnats de France sur route :
1. Rémi Cavagna
2. Rudy Molard
3. Damien Touzé +58
53. Jérémy Bellicaud +9:06  
DNF Théo Delacroix

Championnats d'Italie sur route :
1. Sonny Colbrelli
2. Fausto Masnada +2
3. Samuele Zoccarato +37
18. Andrea Pasqualon +9:39 
55. Simone Petilli
DNF Riccardo Minali