Skip to main content

TRW (4): Leader Vliegen: "I showed my presence to my competitors"

TRW (4): Leader Vliegen: "I showed my presence to my competitors"

A six man breakaway, with Arnaud Démare, was formed at the start of the fourth stage in the VOO Tour de Wallonie (2.HC, 27-31/07). The teammates from leader Loïc Vliegen kept their advantage within six minutes, until an acceleration of Vital Concept - B&B Hotels skimmed the peloton and reduced the time gap of the escapees. An attentive Loïc Vliegen reactec on attacks from his competitors, while Edward Dunbar, last survivor of the breakaway, resisted to the peloton until 11 kilometer before the finish in Lierneux. The stage victory was decided in a sprint, despite many breakaway attempts in the final.  Arnaud Démare won, and Loïc Vliegen keeps the leader's jersey one day longer thanks to a 32rd place in the sprint. Nobody threathened the leader's position for green points jersey, which also stays one day longer with Timothy Dupont. One final 190 kilometer stage from Couvin to Thuin is awaiting the Wanty-Gobert duo to defend their leader's positions.

Loïc Vliegen:

« The six man early breakaway was an ideal situation for us to control, until Vital Concept - B&B Hotels accelerated on the de Côte de Wanne with still 80 kilometer to go and we consequently lost four riders. Yesterday's stage was hard for our team, today we faced the consequence. Fabien Doubey and Thomas Degand did an excellent job in the final, never giving up. I often reacted to attacks of my closest competitors and showed them my presence. It was not an easy day, and I expect the same situation tomorrow, with the Mur de Thuin as the decisive factor. My teammates and myself will have to recover well! »

Stage 4 :

1. Arnaud Démare
2. Szymon Sajnok
3. Stijn Steels
32. Loïc Vliegen
40. Fabien Doubey
66. Thomas Degand +3:30
81. Timothy Dupont +13:12
89. Jérôme Baugnies +13:13
104. Boris Vallée +19:35
109. Ludwig De Winter

Provisional general classification:

1. Loïc Vliegen
2. Chriss Lawless +0:12
3. Dries De Bondt +0:13
19. Fabien Doubey +0:22
48. Thomas Degand +6:23
81. Timothy Dupont +25:55
82. Boris Vallée +25:57
100. Jérôme Baugnies +39:01
106. Ludwig De Winter +48:14