Skip to main content

TDF (7): Combativity award for Yoann Offredo

TDF (7): Combativity award for Yoann Offredo

The seventh stage in the Tour de France (2.UWT, 6-28/7) was a long transition from Belfort to Châlon-sur-Saône. The 230 kilometers, flat as a pancake, were predestined for the sprinters. Yoann Offredo escaped from kilometer zero with Stephano Rossetto. The French duo of baroudeurs animated the front of the race until the final 15 kilometer. The lust for attack of Yoann Offredo was rewarded with the combativity award. The victory in the bunch sprint went to Dylan Groenewegen, with Andrea Pasqualon finishing 13th. Xandro Meurisse stays in 15th position in the provisional general classification.

Yoann Offredo:
« My feelings after days like these are always double. On the one hand I'm satisfied to ride in the front of the Tour de France, the biggest race in the world. On the other hand, there's frustration, because the peloton never gives the breakaway 20 or 30 minutes like they used to do a long time ago. It was doomed to fail with this strong headwind all day, but who doesn't try, has nothing! I'm very tired after more than 500 kilometers and 14 hours in the breakaway. »

« People always say the Tour de France is three weeks long and that you have to manage your efforts. But it would be a pity to finish the Tour the France in anonymity. I really enjoyed those moments at the front, especially after my diffucult season start filled with bad luck! Combativity is a state of mind, to attack even when it is doomed to fail. But even if I didn't win the combativity award, the encouragements of the public along the road were sufficient as a reward! »

Stage 7:
1. Dylan Groenewegen
2. Caleb Ewan
3. Peter Sagan
13. Andrea Pasqualon
54. Guillaume Martin
62. Xandro Meurisse
84. Frederik Backaert
118. Aimé De Gendt +2:11
134. Kévin Van Melsen +3:13
138. Odd Eiking
174. Yoann Offredo +4:25

Provisional general classification:
1. Guilio Ciccone
2. Julian Alaphilippe +0:06
3. Dylan Teuns +0:32
15. Xandro Meurisse +1:39
30. Guillaume Martin +3:27
83. Andrea Pasqualon +31:15
112. Odd Eiking +43:22
147. Aimé De Gendt +54:52
150. Kévin Van Melsen +55:29
167. Frederik Backaert +1:00:09
174. Yoann Offredo +1:09:01