Skip to main content

TDF (12): Andrea Pasqualon in the breakaway in the Pyrenees

TDF (12): Andrea Pasqualon in the breakaway in the Pyrenees

The peloton left start city Toulouse at a fast and furious pace behind in the twelfth stage in the Tour de France (2.UWT, 6-28/7). The first race hour was concluded at 50.6km/h, until a huge 40 man group was given an advantage. Andrea Pasqualon represented Wanty-Gobert in the front group, which lost a lot of its members during the Col de Peyresourde and Hourquette d'Ancizan. During the this second climb of first category, the Italian sprinter was also caught by the peloton. Finally, Simon Yates won the stage in a sprint with three in the streets of Bagnères De-Bigorre. The peloton, with Xandro Meurisse, Odd Eiking and Guillaume Martin, finished 9 minutes later. The Belgian rider stays in 18th position in the provisional general classification after his 34th place this Thursday, one day ahead of the 27.2 kilometer individual time trial in Pau.

Andrea Pasqualon:

« I was happy to be part of the front group and accomplish my task. The start of the race was very fast, but I had good legs. I was the only one representing the team in the front, which made my day a bit harder. I was in difficulty on the Col de Peyresourde and was not able to come back in the front of the race in the fast, not technical downhill. I approached the final climb on my own and waiated for the peloton in order to assist Xandro Meurisse and Guillaume Martin. Today was my second time in the breakaway in a mountain stage in the Tour de France, as a sprinter I can be satisfied with that. »

Stage 12:

1. Simon Yates
2. Pello Bilbao
3. Gregor Mühlberger
34. Xandro Meurisse +9:35
38. Odd Eiking
71. Guillaume Martin
93. Andrea Pasqualon +15:30
106. Yoann Offredo +18:58
116. Frederik Backaert
136. Kévin Van Melsen +20:56
162. Aimé De Gendt +26:34

Provisional general classification:
1. Julian Alaphilippe
2. Geraint Thomas +1:12
3. Egan Bernal +1:16
18. Xandro Meurisse +3:42
25. Guillaume Martin +5:59
87. Andrea Pasqualon +1:05:41
114. Odd Eiking +1:22:12
147. Kévin Van Melsen +1:47:55
153. Frederik Backaert +1:49:49
160. Aimé De Gendt +1:53:19
166. Yoann Offredo +2:14:35