Skip to main content

TDF (11): Aimé De Gendt: "Nice to show my worth in the Tour de France"

TDF (11): Aimé De Gendt: "Nice to show my worth in the Tour de France"

The peloton left Albi, guest city for the first rest day of the Tour de France (2.UWT, 6-28/7), behind for the 11th stage in the rolling countryside towards the center of Toulouse. Aimé De Gendt grabbed his chance from the official start and escaped with three French companions. The four rider breakaway kept their 3 minute maximal advantage until the final. Leaving his three breakaway colleagues behind after the mark for the last 10 kilometer, the young Belgian rider was rewarded with the combativity prize. The Tour de France debutant was overrun by the peloton in the final kilometer. Caleb Ewan took the stage victory in an exciting bunch sprint, with Andrea Pasqualon finishing 11th. Xandro Meurisse gains one spot in the provisional general classification, towards the 18th position. The peloton will reach the Pyrenees this Thursday, during the twelfth stage relying Toulouse with Bagnères De-Bigorre via the Col de Peyresourde and Hourquette d'Ancizan.

Aimé De Gendt:

« It is nice to conclude my first breakaway in my first Tour de France with a moment on the podium for the combativity prize. I enjoyed the atmosphere and many Belgian encouragements during the first 120-130 kilometer, afterwards we rode full in order to stay ahead of the bunch as long as possible. I felt strong in the breakaway and left my three French companions behind in the final, in order to make a stab at the combativity prize. My 30 second advantage on the peloton gave me hope for the stage victory, until I arrived on a sloping section. I couldn't see the end of it, my legs were empty, and I realized I would finish behind the peloton rather than in front. It was nice to show my worth in the Tour de France! »

Stage 11:

1. Caleb Ewan
2. Dylan Groenewegen
3. Elia Viviani
11. Andrea Pasqualon
27. Guillaume Martin
57. Xandro Meurisse
77. Yoann Offredo +0:31
102. Kévin Van Melsen +2:17
111. Odd Eiking +2:40
112. Frederik Backaert
125. Aimé De Gendt

Provisional general classification:

1. Julian Alaphilippe
2. Geraint Thomas +1:12
3. Egan Bernal +1:16
18. Xandro Meurisse +3:42
25. Guillaume Martin +5:59
82. Andrea Pasqualon +59:46
121. Odd Eiking +1:22:12
153. Aimé De Gendt +1:36:20
154. Kévin Van Melsen +1:36:34
159. Frederik Backaert +1:40:57
164. Yoann Offredo +2:05:12