Skip to main content

Taihu Lake (6) : Vallée confident for final GC win

Taihu Lake (6) : Vallée confident for final GC win

The sixth stage of the Tour of Taihu Lake (2.1, 7-14/10) was disputed on the banks of the Tai lake in Wujiang. The ten local laps of 11.5 kilometers logically had to lead to a bunch sprint. Several breakaways took the bonus seconds at the intermediate sprints, but in the end the peloton regrouped. The Colombian Parada was the fastest in the final sprint, Boris Vallée finished near the top 10. Vallée retains its leading position with a lead of 15 seconds with only one stage to go. On Sunday, the peloton will ride from Huzhou to Changxing in the final stage.

Boris Vallée:

"Today I had better legs than the last days, and that from the first kilometers. The team controlled well and the stage was less nervous due to a small breakaway from only two riders. I deliberately chose to skip the intermediate sprints in order to focus on the final sprint. We stayed together with our team on the outposts of the bunch."

"I felt good for the sprint. Wesley launched me perfectly, but at 200 meters from the line I doubted to start my final acceleration. I waited too long and lost too much speed. Then it was over. Too bad! I wanted to sprint to a podium place to strengthen my leaders' jersey. »

« But I remain at the top of the general classification and points classification. In the points classification Molano comes closer, but I focus on the final win tomorrow. I hope to have the same good legs as today. I am going to give everything to ensure the final GC. I have confidence, especially with this strong team. »

Stage 6 : 
1. Jordan Parra
2. Juan Sebastian Molano
3. Dylan Kennet
12. Boris Vallée
38. Jasper De Laat
39. Wesley Kreder
70. Kevin Van Melsen
72. Marco Minnaard
94. Mark McNally

Provisional GC :
1. Boris Vallée
2. Benjamin Dyball + 0 :15
3. Alexander Cataford
49. Wesley Kreder + 1 :21
50. Kevin Van Melsen + 1 :23
53. Jasper De Laat + 1:27
55. Marco Minnaard + 1:28
60. Mark McNally + 1:37

Points classification :
1. Boris Vallée 51 pts
2. Juan Sebastian Molano – 1pt
3. Dylan Kennett – 7 pts