Skip to main content

Paris-Nice (3) : Andrea Pasqualon, 3rd: "I waited a little too long"

Paris-Nice (3) : Andrea Pasqualon, 3rd: "I waited a little too long"

The calm returned to Paris-Nice (2.WT, 10/03) this Tuesday for the third stage between Chalette-sur-Loing and La Châtre. The head wind all day didn't encourage the riders to be offensive. Tom Devriendt chose to attack solo, building a maximal advantage of 9'15. The Belgian rider was caught with 40 kilometer to go by the peloton attentive for eventual crosswinds. Finally, the strongest riders fought for the victory in La Châtre. The rising profile in the final 2 kilometer offered Andrea Pasqualon the opportunity to sprint to the podium, on 3rd place, behind Ivan Garcia Cortina and Peter Sagan. Fabien Doubey climbed to 17th place in the provisional classification, one day ahead of the 15.1 kilometer individual time trial around Saint-Amand-Montrond.

Andrea Pasqualon:

«  I've chosen for Sagan's slipstream, but because of the headwind everybody waited a long time to start their sprint. Garcia Cortina was the first one to start his final effort, and maybe I also had to begin my sprint earlier.  I had good legs and my sprint was fast. » 

«  The weather circumstances were better than the previous days, but the nervosity remained the same. Everybody wanted to stay at the front. Tomorow will be different. I want to test my shape in the time trial, even though I know it's good! » 

Hilaire Van der Schueren:

«  I knew that the breakaway wouldn't stay in the front until the finish, but Tom Devriendt wanted a confirmation heading towards the classics. So I let him choose. Behind him, it was again nervous, just like each Paris-Nice. We tried to protect Fabien Doubey as good as possible, meaning that Andrea Pasqualon was sometimes isolated. But he finishes on the podium, which is an excellent result for us in Paris-Nice. I'm hoping for a good time trial of Xandro Meurisse on Wednesday. » 

Stage 3:

1. Ivan Garcia Cortina
2. Peter Sagan
3.Andrea Pasqualon
26. Fabien Doubey +0:03
73. Aimé De Gendt +1:53
117. Xandro Meurisse +5:50
121 Boy van Poppel
123. Pieter Vanspeybrouck
127. Tom Devriendt +6:01

Provisional general classification:

1. Maximilian Schachmann
2. Giacomo Nizzolo +0:13
3. Jasper Stuyven +0:24
17. Fabien Doubey +1:04
35. Andrea Pasqualon +3:24
64. Aimé De Gendt +8:55
85. Xandro Meurisse +12:53
87. Pieter Vanspeybrouck +13:24
124. Boy Van Poppel +23:52
130. Tom Devriendt +26:30