Skip to main content

Murcia (2): Meurisse (4th) secures a resounding GC win

Murcia (2): Meurisse (4th) secures a resounding GC win

There were a lot of breakaway attempts at the early stage of the final day at the Vuelta Ciclista a la Region de Murcia (15/02, 2.1), but the peloton wouldn't let go the escapees for a second day in a row. Movistar Team has shaken things up from the first of four categorized climbs, by taking over the lead from the riders of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans. Race leader Xandro Meurisse, well surrounded by his teammates, followed the thirty remaining riders halfway through the stage.

An attack of Valverde with Kamna threatened Meurisse's yellow jersey, but the duo couldn't prevent the comeback of seven chasers on the flat roads in the final. The group with Meurisse battled for the stage and final victory in the streets of Murcia. Luis Leon Sanchez won solo, a couple of seconds ahead of Meurisse finishing in 4th position. The Belgian rider of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans secures a first surrounding overall victory, after previous wins at the Druivenkoers Overijse (2018) and a stage at the Dunkirk Four Day (2016).

Xandro Meurisse:

« Movistar Team increased the pace from early on. I predicted Valverde's attack, but I was surprised that Kamna, my competitor for GC, was able to follow him. I was accompanied by his teammates and couldn't solve this problem quickly. Luckily some riders of CCC Team came back and collaborated to bring me back in pole position. I suffered a lot today on this hard course, but with the finish in sight and the yellow jersey on my shoulders I could give a little more! » 

«  I'm very happy with this victory and the support of the team. My confidence before the race was good, thanks to the presence of my strong and experienced teammates. They all did their part of the job and I hope this victory will stimulate all of us to continue this success! » 

Stage 2:

1.Luis Leon Sanchez
2.Omar Fraile +0:07
3.Josef Cerny
4.Xandro Meurisse
11.Loïc Vliegen +5:25
26.Simone Petilli +5:45
32.Aimé De Gendt +5:56
62.Maurits Lammertink +12:54
DNF Pieter Vanspeybrouck

Final general classification:

1.Xandro Meurisse
2.Josef Cerny +0:11
3.Lennard Kamna +0:17
21.Loïc Vliegen +22:22
34.Simone Petilli +22:42
35.Aimé De Gendt +24:16
39.Jan Bakelants +27:30
56.Maurits Lammertink +29:51