Skip to main content

Guangxi (5): Dupont: "To end on a high note"

Guangxi (5): Dupont: "To end on a high note"

The Tour of Guangxi (2.WT, 17-22/10) returned to a less hilly profile this Monday, on the occasion of the fifth stage. The 212 kilometer from Liuzhou to Guilin were seemingly less difficult than the previous stage finish in Nongla which offered initial indications for the general classification, however, the last climb, Jinzhu Hill, broke the peloton into bits and pieces. Guillaume Martin, second at the top, had to hand over his polkadot jersey to Tomasz Marczynski. The peloton grouped during the final 30 kilometer towards Guilin, where a bunch sprint decided on the win. Gaviria took the victory, with Timothy Dupont finishing 5th. Eiking maintained his 7th position in the general classifcation before the final stage around Guilin this Tuesday.
Timothy Dupont:
« It's been a long day, but a rather calm one until the mountain zone. The race was controlled until an acceleration on the second climb, 40 kilometer before the finish. I was distanced on the last climb, and thought I would come back during the downhill. But at the bottom I realized that the peloton was far ahead. I was the only rider of the team and only four or five men were working to get back. Knewing that there was no breakaway, there was a possibility of coming back. »
« We joined the peloton with 10 kilometer to go, giving me some time to recover. I chose for Ackermann's wheel, who started his sprint with 300 meter to go. Unfortunately I didn't really have the legs to sprint anymore. Gaviria and Bauhaus came from the back, so this 5th place was the best result possible given the circumstances. I hope to conclude the season with another top 5 this Tuesday. » 

Stage 5:

1. Fernando Gaviria
2. Pascal Ackermann
3. Matteo Trentin
5. Timothy Dupont
31. Odd Eiking
32. Tom Devriendt
33. Guillaume Martin
36. Loïc Vliegen
94. Kévin Van Melsen +6:48
111. Pieter Vanspeybrouck +9:20

Provisional general classification:

1. Enric Mas
2. Felipe Daniel Martínez +0:05
3. Diego Rosa +0:14
7. Odd Eiking +0:29
18. Guillaume Martin
30. Loïc Vliegen +2:05
44. Timothy Dupont +5:46
93. Kévin Van Melsen +17:38
105. Tom Devriendt +19:45
119. Pieter Vanspeybrouck +28:32