Skip to main content

GP le Samyn: Aimé De Gendt repeats last year's stunt by missing the victory

GP le Samyn: Aimé De Gendt repeats last year's stunt by missing the victory

Not often the sun is out for the  GP le Samyn (1.1, 3/03), so its presence today was a good sign for the riders of Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans. They kept kalm at the first part of the race of 202 kilometer, before appearing at the foreground during the first local lap around Dour. The succession of cobble sections, combined with the work of Deceuninck - Quick Step, skimmed the peloton.

With Aimé De Gendt, Timothy Dupont, Andrea Pasqualon and Loïc Vliegen, Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans was the best represented team in the 17 man breakaway at the approach of the final circuit of 27 kilometer. Aimé De Gendt was ambitious after his 2nd place at the previous edition, and didn't leave the forefront. He joined three attackers on the final cobble section, but they were caught in sight of the finishline. Hugo Hofstetter sprinted to the victory in the Wallonian opening race. Aimé De Gendt finished again in 2nd place.

Aimé De Gendt:

«  I love this nice race, suited for strong riders. The team performed really well. In the final I focused on the sprint, because the last cobble section and additional corners in the final kilometer didn't offer good opportunies for attacks. In the end I missed the victory, just like last year. Even if I realize that it's a good result, I'm a little disappointed. I'm motivatid for all races, so on to the next chance! »

Hilaire Van der Schueren:

«  The tactics were good. I'm really happy with the work of Pieter Vanspeybrouck, because thanks to him we've got four riders in the final. We had to gamble now and then to be in this good position, but we also had to rectify some bad situations. It's for example a pity that Andrea Pasqualon had to ride in the front. But with Aimé De Gendt, we still had a joker for the final cobble section. Unfortunately, the three other escapees didn't want to collaborate with him. Otherwise, Aimé would have won the race! »

GP le Samyn:

1.Hugo Hofstetter
2.Aimé De Gendt
3.David Dekker
16.Andrea Pasqualon +0:39
24.Timothy Dupont
39.Loïc Vliegen +0:42
DNF Ludwig De Winter
DNF Tom Devriendt
DNF Pieter Vanspeybrouck