Skip to main content

BinckBank Tour (1) - McNally chooses the offensive again

BinckBank Tour (1) - McNally chooses the offensive again

In the opening stage of BinckBank Tour (2.WT, 07-13/08), the former Eneco Tour, between Breda en Venray Mark McNally again showed his offensive heart. The 28-year-old Briton was already in the offensive on Saturday in Dwars door het Hageland, and chose again the attack on Monday. "Macca" broke away in the company of Laurens De Vreese, Piet Allegaert and Elmar Reinders. He took some points at the intermediate sprints and is now 2nd in the rushes classification. With 3 kilometers to go the breakaway was caught by the chasing peloton. In a chaotic sprint Peter Sagan showed his fast legs. Our riders weren't well placed to contest a good sprint. Pieter Vanspeybrouck finished 44th. Mark McNally is now 6th in the GC.

Mark McNally: 

"We never got more than 2 minutes in the beginning of the stage. With 20 kilometers to go we nearly had our biggest gap with just under two minutes and I thought maybe we might do it. But in the end the finish was just a little bit too far away. But we rode well."

"I went all in for the first intermediate Primus sprint (2nd) for the rushes jersey. In the second sprint I decided to soak up some points and save my legs in case we would stay away."

"I am now 6th in the overall classification and 2nd in the rushes classification. That is not too bad. I want to try to be in some more breakaways over the next days in order to win the rushes jersey. I am finding a nice rhytm in the last few races."

Results Stage 1 (Breda-Venray, 169km)

1. Peter Sagan
2. Phil Bauhaus
3. Magnus Cort Nielsen
44. Pieter Vanspeybrouck
51. Kenny Dehaes
54. Dion Smith
63. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck
85. Xandro Meurisse
111. Kevin Van Melsen
128. Mark McNally

General Classification after Stage 1

1. Peter Sagan 
2. Laurens De Vreese + 00:01
3. Phil Bauhais + 00:04
6. Mark McNally + 00:06
47. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 00:10
53. Kenny Dehaes
56. Dion Smith
65. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck
78. Frederik Backaert
87. Xandro Meurisse
113. Kevin Van Melsen