Skip to main content

Paris-Camembert - Frédéric Amorison : "We took our responsibilities"

Paris-Camembert - Frédéric Amorison : "We took our responsibilities"

This Tuesday took place the 82nd edition of Paris-Camembert (1.1), a one-day race from Normandy that crossed the hilly departments of Eure, Orne and Calvados over 210 kilometers. The race exploded 40 kilometers from the finish, just after the six runaways who animated the part of the race were caught, the peloton split into two groups. In the first, Jan Bakelants and Lorenzo Rota were part of about twenty riders, sitting forty seconds ahead of the rest of the competitors, where sat Maurits Lammertink and Georg Zimmermann.

The decisive attack was carried to a little less than 30 kilometers from the finish, when 4 men isolated themselves from this first group. Among them, last year's winner Dorian Gaudon (Ag2r) managed to reach the finish line by escaping with Périchon (Cofidis), and he won the race for the second year in a row. Despite the sacrifice of Bakelants and a final attempt by Rota in the last ascent of the Butte des Fondits, the Italian sprinted for fifth place, and finally finished twelfth.

Frédéric Amorison (sports director) :
"This twelfth place does not entirely reflect our performance today. We did the race as expected, taking our responsibilities and controlling the gap. The peloton was down to 25 men in the local circuits, and we had Lorenzo Rota and Jan Bakelants up front. Ag2r, Cofidis and FDJ were however in numerical superiority and they were each able to send a man in the last lap, which were never brought back. Jan sacrificed himself for Lorenzo, but the Italian had to settle for a sprint for fifth place. We probably lacked manpower at the end to come back, but the riders' behavior was exemplary. They deserved better."

Paris-Camembert :
1. Dorian Gaudon
2. Pierre-Luc Périchon
3. Geoffrey Bouchard +46
12. Lorenzo Rota +55
22. Georg Zimmermann +3:17
34. Maurits Lammertink +4:21
44. Jan Bakelants +7:46
DNF. Jérémy Bellicaud
DNF. Théo Delacroix
DNF. Tom Devriendt