Skip to main content

Belgian Championship - Bakelants (4th) « Difficult to surprise the others »

Belgian Championship - Bakelants (4th) « Difficult to surprise the others »

The new Belgian champion is known. The start of the race of 236 kilometer was given in Halle. On the Muur van Geraardsbergen after 33 kilometer, a trio already had an advantage of more than 3 minutes. One race hour later, the race situation had changed. Twenty riders with Jan Bakelants, Alfdan De Decker and Xandro Meurisse had an advantage of 3’30. The troops of Lotto-Soudal reduced the difference to 1 minute, but the peloton would never see the head of the race anymore. After a series of attacks in the breakaway, the one of Dries De Bondt was decisive. He rode solo towards the title, with Jan Bakelants sprinting to 4th.

Jan Bakelants:
« The race scenario was strange, with a fast start. On the Muur van Geraardsbergen there was a first good acceleration and the pace didn't slow down until we arrived on the local laps. All teams were attentive and absolutely wanted to be in the breakaway. So I felt that probably a strong group would escape. I took me a lot of energy to join the 19 riders who escaped at the approach of Anzegem, but it looked liked this could be an important and successful move.»

« On this rolling course, I felt that I was watched. After an attempt in the final, six others escaped. Xandro sacrificed for me, before Serry and De Bondt went. On the final passage on the Tiegemberg I tried a last time, but unfortunately I couldn't surprise my breakaway companions on this course. A good race of the team, but unfortunately some frustration because of the missed podium. »

Belgian championship:
1.Dries De Bondt
2.Iljo Keisse +0:06
3.Pieter Seery
4.Jan Bakelants
9.Xandro Meurisse
52.Loïc Vliegen +1:45
58.Aimé De Gendt
73.Timothy Dupont +2:35
79.Pieter Vanspeybrouck
DNF Ludwig De Winter
DNF Thomas Degand
DNF Tom Devriendt
DNF Alfdan De Decker
DNF Jasper De Plus