Skip to main content

Belgian nationals - « Confident for the championships »

Belgian nationals - « Confident for the championships »

The battle for the Belgian tricolor takes place in Anzegem this Thursday. At noon, the peloton will leave Halle for 104 kilometer towards the local circuit in in Anzegem. The Muur van Geraardsbergen is situated after 33 kilometer, before the parcours crosses the Flemish Ardennes. After seven local laps of 18.8 kilometer, spiced up with two passages on the Tiegemberg each lap, the new Belgian Champion will be known around 17h30.

Circus-Wanty Gobert-Tormans will probably be at the start with eleven riders. One rider of the Belgian team is lacking on the start list. Cyclocross rider Quinten Hermans is planning his comeback after his triple forearm operation at the cyclocross in Gieten on October 11th. Kévin Van Melsen is unsure about his participation after his bad crash in the final of the GP d'Isbergues. The 33 year old has a sore back and a knee injury.

Hilaire Van der Schueren:
« After an excellent week in Luxembourg, the podium of Dupont in Isbergues and the victory in Gooik, with a Dutch rider, we are confident for the Belgian national championships. We've got several ambitious riders in the team. If we race intelligently, we can win the title. It will be a strange championship, with a couple of riders coming from the Tour de France and some strong riders preparing the World Championships. I already have the tactical plan in mind and I'll make sure the team is attentive and focused from the start. The 100 kilometer towards Anzegem with the Muur van Geraardsbergen aren't easy, I take into account a scenario in which the race is decided at the very beginning. »

Jan Bakelants
Alfdan De Decker
Aimé De Gendt
Jasper De Plus
Ludwig De Winter
Thomas Degand
Tom Devriendt
Timothy Dupont
Xandro Meurisse
(Kévin Van Melsen)
Pieter Vanspeybrouck
Loïc Vliegen

Sportive direction:
Hilaire Van der Schueren
Steven De Neef